I’m back!!

Hello everyone…it’s me!

I am safely back in civilisation with my feet propped up on the couch eating copious amounts of chocolate and a tin of rice cream while replying to emails, comments and phone calls. The past few weeks have been an amazing journey with many highs and quite honestly no real lows (apart from each descent down a dune). Having crossed hundreds of dunes I have been left with nothing more than a niggling heel injury (which the RFDS doctor has just been poking and prodding and making me yelp), while my body and muscles feel like they could keep going. That said I don’t think I am capable of writing about the entire walk right now, but over the next few weeks I hope to put together a few posts about different aspects of the walk including that infamous camel chasing experience that everyone seems to want to know about.

Many laughs were had, many steps were taken and many people came together to make the experience what it was. I hope that the pieces of writing to come can somehow describe not only what it was like to walk through the desert itself, but also what life was like on the road and how when all was said and done our crew were still speaking to each other at the end.

The arrival into town on Monday was a wonderful experience and from the bottom of my heart I thank everyone who came out for it, and also my wonderful family, support crew and friends who joined me on the road for the last leg of the journey.

The Finish Line!

Photo: Karen Brook

Friends, family, visitors and even The Great Outdoors! Photo: Karen Brook

Below are a couple of links to different media circles that have written about the walk or that I have spoken to over the past couple of days. The walk was also forever engraved in the Hansard of Federal Parliament when it was mentioned by our local MP Bruce Scott, who also joined me for the last leg. During the walk I also did an interview with 4WD Touring and The Great Outdoors but I’ll have to keep you posted on these ones.

Courier Mail

ABC Western QLD

ABC PM

ABC NET

Australian Federal Parliament Hansard

I am extremely proud of what we have achieved in terms of fundraising for the RFDS as well as raising awareness for their service, and I can very happily announce that we are over $28,500 and still accepting donations.

Keep an eye out over the coming weeks for more posts and photos from the trip, as well as updates on the fundraising tally. Unfortunately the internet connection out here is a little slow so I have only managed to upload a few photos into the gallery for now.

Thanks again everyone. You are all stars!

13 thoughts on “I’m back!!

  1. Well done Jenna! Congratulations on the great fundraising effort. The great dune field is now forever part of your life. I look forward to catching up with you in Birdsville in September.
    Andrew

    • Thanks Andrew!

      I was kicking myself I didn’t call you before I left to ask what I do if a camel chases me, given one did and you were the first person I thought of. Figuring I wouldn’t be able to outrun it nor get downwind of it, I chose to very quickly walk the opposite way and crawl behind some bushes, stay deathly still and say a lot of prayers. Do camel’s see better then they hear or smell? The whole time I kept hoping this was the case…

      I can only assume they were bull camels following the herd who’s tracks I had walked over earlier in the day. Given they ran from way down a neighbouring dune about 900m away, then back when they couldn’t find me, and left lots of their bodily fluids where they stopped to look for me, I am guessing they weren’t coming over to say hello.

      By the way I now know why you keep coming back to this place. It is beyond description really.

      JB

  2. Jenna – what a champion! Congratulations on finishing and more importantly raising so much needed funds for the RFDS!! I loved following your progress through your blogs so I can’t wait to read how the rest of the walk went! Kat

  3. Hi Jenna. What a fantastic effort! Well done and congratulations. You are an inspiration to us all. Regards to all in Diamantina Shire. Terry Hill

  4. Well done Jenna. congratulations on a great effort. Although I never doubted you would achieve the distance.

Leave a Reply

