Adelaide raises the big bucks!

After having just arrived in Brisbane to overnight before heading back to Birdsville I have finally found a few moments to put fingers to keyboard to write about the Adelaide Fundraiser.

Around 90 people turned out to support The Long Walk Home at The Watermark Hotel in Glenelg, raising much more money then I expected for the RFDS. Guests at the event were kept entertained with a few speeches including some words from David Hogan (ex RFDS pilot and current helicopter rescue pilot), Gemma Snewin (RFDS Central Section) and myself, as well as numerous minute-to-win-it games, raffles and auctions. Photos from the night can be seen by clicking here and scrolling down to the bottom of the gallery. I apologise for the photos that are repeated and the quality of some, but you’ll get the idea of how things happened.

There were many laughs had, numerous prizes won and much money raised throughout the night and I would like to say a huge thank you to the following business and people who donated items for use as prizes and auction items.

The Watermark Hotel, Phil Hoffman Travel, Neil ‘Noddy’ O’Dea, Skin Things – Glenelg, Chris and Sarah Scott, Andrew Mackie, Sean Kirchner, Steve Martin, The Birdsville Roadhouse, The Birdsville Hotel, The Holdfast Hotel, The Alberton Hotel, The Chef’s Toolbox – Jungle Jayne, Maggie Beer, Anne and Terry Townsend, Emelaine Photography, Elders, Panda Hats, The Barn Bistro, Rob and Shelly at The Railway Hotel, The Metropolitan Hotel, Lucy Schulz, Karen Brook Studios and the NAB. I really hope I didn’t forget anyone there…

I would also like to thank the hard work of Gary and Karen Brook who helped me with the planning, recruitment of guests and promotion of the night. Without them it would of been much harder to organise the night from my isolated little patch of paradise in Birdsville.

I think I can easily say that at least a third of everyone who attended walked away with a prize or item of some sort. While everyone also took home a piece of The Long Walk Home in the form of their entry ticket which was a very funky keyring, that I hope now sits proudly on your keys.

Altogether the night was a resounding success and proved much more entertaining, crazy, hectic and fun then I was expecting. In total we raised over $4000 for the RFDS on the night, and when combined with the rest of the money it takes the total to nearly $13,000.00. Yes, you read that correctly, nearly THIRTEEN THOUSAND dollars. How amazing is that! As of today I have 3 months until I take that first step across the desert and we are already well over half way to the fundraising goal. Keep up the great work everyone. Each time I get an email to say a donation has been received it serves as a reminder of why I am doing this, and gives me a little kick up the bum to train harder and get back on the publicity bandwagon.

Thanks again to everyone who turned up for the night, and to everyone who has donated, shared, browsed or commented on The Long Walk Home. Although I say it all the time, I really do appreciate the support.

Jenna

Leave a Reply

