Visitors making a difference in Birdsville.

After much persistence by my sister and a family friend, I didn’t so much as agree to speak at a Local Government conference this week, as was directed to. On Tuesday morning I trotted down to the local hall where 40 odd managers from local government were meeting for a conference. I thought I’d find talking about my walk difficult in front of so many people, but I’m told I was the most interesting speaker of the day which was a bonus. Perhaps it was the topic or that fact I turned up in my ripped jeans after tilling the vegie patch and proceeded to talk underwater about the walk, why I was doing it, what it was and how they could support me. At least I did have the decency to tuck my shirt in and take off my hat which I thought should count for something. It seems the lovely people were listening as I spoke and they later raised over $500 for The Long Walk Home which was an amazing effort. My thanks goes to all the people who donated at the barbecue, as it was certainly a surprise to hear the amount when I returned the next day to collect. My lesson learnt from this experience was to just say yes. With only 3 months to go until I take those tentative first steps across the desert I need to say yes more. The fundraising tally has gone over $7000 which is a fantastic achievement and thank you to everyone who has kindly donated to The Long Walk Home.

Talking underwater at the LGMA conference. March 2012

LGMA delegates. Thanks for the donation!

Leave a Reply

