Uvumilivu?

Wondering what the story is behind the funny word?

This year I had the opportunity to go to Africa and at one point I found myself standing on the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro. While slugging away on the trek, with no where near enough oxygen for my body to function, I got to speaking with my guides who were walking with me at the back of the pack. During the monotonous effort of putting one foot in front of the other I began to learn some of their language…Swahili. For anyone who has climbed kili, the familiar “poley poley” (slowly slowly) is perhaps the best known phrase in Swahili.

So back onto why uvumilivu. It means endurance or persistence in Swahili and is something that I drew on to get myself to the roof of Africa, and is something that I no doubt will need in bucket fulls come June 25th next year. The thought of crossing 1000+ sandhills has certainly put a lead weight in my stomach on the odd occasion, but with some simple uvumilivu I’ll get there eventually!

2 thoughts on “Uvumilivu?

Leave a Reply

